Food Rules by Michael Pollan

So I just finished reading Food Rules. Which I recommend to everyone. The books gives us 64 rules we should live by when it comes to food. I love how simple and informative this book is. We all know that food is processed and that we should stay away from it. We know that small portions are better then super size ones.

In the book he writes about how we should eat locally and more plant base foods. Which I agree. You don’t have to be a vegetarian or vegan, eating meat is something he recommends, but in small portions, about the size of your fist.

Stop eating before your full. I love that. I can eat until I’m stuffed. Many of us do. Chapter one is “Eat Food.” I was confused at first but reading it made sense. Eat food! Don’t eat anything made in a lab, made by a machine, or made by people wearing a surgical cap.

“If it came from a plant, eat it; if it was made in a plant, don’t”- Michael Pollan

image

Everytime I grab something at the grocery store I read the label.  If I can’t pronounce the ingredient I’m not getting it. I look for food that has a simple ingredient list. There are times I grab junk food, which I feel bad latter, but its what I’m craving. If you crave something you should eat . Make it and make it healthy.

Food is important to the body. We shouldn’t be putting crap in food to make it last longer. Make animals, bacteria, pest not want it. When we put pesticides on our food we can’t take it off. The pesticides are put in our bodies, which in turn make us sick. Eat a vegetable or fruit with pesticides, then eat one that was grown without it. Mmmm…taste so much better.

Same with meat. Buy and eat meat that doesn’t have anything in it. Meat isn’t bright red like you see in the stores.  I saw a sign at a grocery store one had chemicals in it and it, it was bright red. The other had nothing., it was pink. Same meat one with chemicals, one without. I’m sure the one without will taste so much better.  I’m planing on making a vegetable garden again. It will save money, but also I’ll know what I’m putting in my body.

Thanks for reading. I will love to hear your opinion on this topic.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

